37 weeks, 2 days….

ImageThat’s me at 37 weeks! I can’t believe I am 37 weeks, but I am so ready for this baby. I am ready to not be pregnant, but I am so scared for the labor and the adjustment for my daughter. I have been so worried about her while I am in the hospital, getting the room and house ready, and preparing meals that I haven’t even thought about labor. Yikes! I had a very strange labor with my daughter and I am concerned that it will be similar. The contractions part was EASY. My contractions were very strange and were 5 minutes apart then 30 minutes apart. They thought I wasn’t in active labor until they checked me and realized that I was 5cm and then 6cm an hour later. They were very strange contractions. They ended out breaking my water to try to make my contractions more regular, but that did not do it either. They had to give me pitocin to try to regulate them before I started pushing. You can’t really push with contractions that are so unpredictable. I got an epidural before the pitocin thinking that it was going to make it REALLY intense, but it didn’t. THEN…. I got this horrible stabbing pain in my rectum. It was very scary and clearly the epidural was not doing anything for this pain. My midwife realized that the baby was posterior (face up) instead of her facing my back. This apparently causes bad back labor and the epidural cannot reach this area. It also makes pushing VERY, VERY difficult. It took me nearly 2 hours of pushing and 14 stitches later. I guess I should be blessed that my contractions were so easy, but damn the pushing was awful. I thought I was going to die or pass out the whole time. The amount of energy and strength it took was more than anything I could have imagined. Luckily, posterior babies are not that common and I am hoping for a much easier delivery this time.

Now.. onto my recent symptoms/changes from last week. I am still peeing A LOT. I didn’t think it was possible to pee more, but it is. Bowels are still inconsistent and frequent. Heartburn has subsided once again. Appetite is growing again, but when I do eat I get full very fast. Sleeps is awful. I am still waking up around 5am. The achy, dull pains in my pelvis and cervix are much more apparent. Braxton Hicks contractions are much more frequent and strong. Every time my bladder is full or just emptied I get very strong contractions. Baby’s Movements have decreased slightly. Weight has decreased over the last week which is common during late pregnancy. All of these things are telling me that my body is getting ready. All great things….

9 thoughts on “37 weeks, 2 days….

Leave a Reply

