What to pack in a hospital bag

Some of you may be wondering what all you need to pack in your hospital bag. Trust me when I tell you that there are so many items that I never touched in my bag when I had my daughter. There are also items that I wish I would have packed. Here is my list for my 2nd baby:

  • Hospital admissions paperwork (pre-registration forms) Many hospitals offer these forms via their website or from your doctor’s office. I highly recommend having them filled out before you go. The last thing you want to do is fill out tons of paperwork right when you get to the hospital when you are trying to breathe in between contractions.
  • Insurance cards
  • Cell phone and charger– So many of my friends forgot their charger. I’m sure you will want to send photos of your baby to your family and friends.
  • Camera– Make sure the batteries are charged up before you go
  • Snacks– I cannot stress this enough. Pack granola bars, pretzels, etc. Most hospital food is less than desirable and the portions are small. You won’t be able to eat while in labor, but your partner may get hungry. Plus, you will want them for the hospital stay afterward. You get 3 meals a day, but if you are nursing you will be starving!
  • Comfortable clothes/nightgowns– Make sure you wear dark colors because they will get ruined. Do not buy anything nice or expensive. You will bleed A LOT and it will leak.
  • Robe– I also packed a robe to be a little more covered when it was drafty and also to cover up when certain visitors came.
  • Toiletries– Yes they will provide you with these items, but nothing is worse than the cheap brands they give you. Trust me the first shower you take after delivery will be the best shower of your life. You will be covered in blood, sweat &  tears (literally) and being able to use your own toiletries and soap will be comforting. The sandpapery chemical smelling soap that they provide will not be soothing. (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, razor, toothbrush, toothpaste, lotion, a little make up) Yes I put makeup here. I felt like I needed a little cover up for the bags under my eyes, plus there are lots of photos being taken. Don’t forget contact cases/glasses if you wear them!
  • Warm fuzzy socks, maternity/nursing bras–I love those fuzzy socks and they just make you feel cozy while you are in the hospital. Make sure you bring nursing bras if you are planning on breastfeeding. It is hard enough learning how to breastfeed without trying to fumble with a regular bra.
  • Hair ties, brush, clips– Nothing is more annoying than sweaty hair in your face when you are in labor.
  • Your own towel and wash cloth. Trust me on this. The towels are AWFUL. Sandpaper
  • Clothes for you to wear home. You may need maternity clothes still or just bring yoga pants. No need to get dressed up just for the drive from the hospital to your house.
  • Baby’s going home outfit The same goes for baby. So many first time moms put their babies in these elaborate outfits with hats, bows, shoes, etc. Its ridiculous. You are taking your baby from the hospital to your house. Bring a sleeper for them to wear. If it is still cold out don’t forget hat, blankets, etc.
  • Magazines or an iPad– I really didn’t have time to look at either of these, but if you think you won’t get a lot of visitors then maybe you will want to bring something.
  • Underwear to go home in (maybe). They provide these mesh underwear that you throw away. I recommend just wearing these while you are bleeding heavily the first few days. I even took a few home because you don’t want to ruin any of your underwear.
  • Carseat, carseat cover (if its cold)
  • Overnight items for your partner or spouse
  • Gifts for old siblings! I plan on bringing some coloring books/crayons and maybe a new book. This will not only give her something to do while she is visiting, but also make her feel special.

Things NOT to bring:

  • Nice clothes for you or the baby
  • Breast pump
  • Curling iron, flatiron, etc. (A little make up, hair dryer maybe to make yourself presentable, but remember you just gave birth you aren’t entering a beauty pageant)
  • Diapers, wipes, comb, shampoo etc for the baby. The hospital will provide you will all of these things.
  • Valuables (wedding ring, jewelry, etc) Just leave it at home. You have too much to keep track of plus with the fluid and swelling from the labor you might get your rings stuck on your fingers
3 thoughts on “What to pack in a hospital bag

  1. I packed most things in your “bring” list and literally didn’t even bring it from the car into my room! My son was born right after midnight Wednesday morning and we left Thursday morning. The only thing I actually used was toothpaste/tooth brushes, a brush (once), and an outfit for my son.

Leave a Reply

