Parenting a toddler while pregnant

I cannot begin to tell you how many times people say “Wow your kids will be 21 months apart. You must be crazy!” Umm.. really? It is just shy of 2 years. I don’t think it is that close. There are positives and negatives to any age difference and I don’t think anyone should really give their opinion. A family has to decide what is best for them and that may be different than another family’s views. I have a 19 month old daughter who is the light of my life. She is such a bright little girl and I am amazed at the things she learns on a daily basis. She has A LOT of energy and loves to play. Although lately we play with a toy for 30 seconds or less before moving onto the next. Every night while I am cooking dinner she wants me to hold her because she wants to “help.” I love that she is interested in helping, but carrying around a 26lb toddler while I am 7 months pregnant trying to cook dinner is exhausting. I have decided to pull up one of our stools with the back to have her sit up to the counter and give her “jobs” to do. Last night we were making homemade stromboli and she wanted to help stretch the dough. I let her (with clean hands) push the dough around a little and she was just so tickled. Then I let her help sprinkle cheese and the other ingredients. It was a much better solution than holding her or having her scream at my legs. And guess what? My little suddenly picky eater decided to eat 2 slices of stromboli last night! I really suggest that other moms of toddlers find a way to have them help.

We also got rid of our “nummy” aka pacifier this past Friday. I have really been avoiding it but I knew I had to do it before the new baby came. I officially have 2 months and I wanted to give her enough time to transition. She only used it for naps and nighttime and spit it out within moments of falling asleep, but I didn’t want to continue the dependency. Friday afternoon we gathered up all of our nummies and packed them into a little box. (I had stashed away some of her Christmas toys that she had opened to bring out at a later date and decided to use them to my advantage.) I told her we were going to give all of our nummies to Santa and that since we were a BIG girl we were going to get a present back from him. I asked her who she wanted Santa to give them to and she said “babies.” Ok.. So I reiterated several times that all of our nummies were going to Santa to give to babies which  meant we no longer needed a nummy. She said “no nummies mommie–babies.” We put the box on the porch and I handed her one of her Christmas toys that I had stashed away. She kept repeating “no nummies mommie.” I thought to myself.. mmmhmm.. We’ll see if this works tonight. She normally asks for her binky when she is ready to go to sleep and demands it. I did the normal bedtime routine and put her in her crib and she went to sleep with just a few little whimpers. WAIT… WHAT?! I thought this was going to be the most tragic event in her life? Did she really understand giving away her pacifiers to other babies? I guess I will never know, but it has been 4 days and she has only the word once. YES, I feel like super mom and gave myself a huge pat on the back. 

One thought on “Parenting a toddler while pregnant

  1. I love this! I am pregnant with our first, and I’d like to wait about 3 years to have another baby, and a lot of my friends here (I’m a Marine wife) keep saying I’m crazy, and I should have them way closer together. Like you said, there are definite positives and negatives to both!!!

Leave a Reply

