What’s in a name?

baby_nameSome people know the names of their future children before they even become pregnant or married! I am not one of those people. As a matter of fact, my daughter wasn’t named for the first few hours of her life. Mainly because my husband and I have very different opinions regarding names. I had a few favorite names for my daughter, but unfortunately my husband hated all of them. He kept coming up with these names that were terrible! I will not mention them because I don’t want to offend anyone! He came up with weird names that I have never heard of before and I like classic, beautiful names. I like names that are different, but not unheard of. I tend to gravitate toward older names that are still beautiful. We opted NOT to tell anyone the names we were thinking of because we didn’t want people to give us their opinions. I don’t want to hear that you knew a kid in grade school who picked their nose in class with that name. Or the fat, smelly kid with that name. I always tell all my pregnant friends to do the same. People are WAY less likely to make a face or give an opinion when you have already had your child and have officially named them.

As I suspected, we are having difficulty once again trying to name this little guy. I thought maybe the 2nd one would be easier or that a boy’s name might be easier, but NOPE… The hubs is still coming up with terrible names that are made up and he hates my classic names. I am just hoping that it works out the way it did when we had our daughter. We just knew that we wanted to name her Elise after seeing her beautiful little face.  Here are my suggestions:

  1. Don’t feel pressured to name your baby before he/she is born. It is perfectly acceptable to wait until after you meet them.
  2. Invest in a baby name book. There is just something about being able to leaf through an actual book rather than reading a website that makes the process more enjoyable.
  3. Have you and your partner make a list and allow each other to VETO names that each of you hate. You’ll be left with names that each of you are at least OK with.
  4. Make sure you say the names with your last name. Make sure you say them out loud. You don’t want to accidentally name your child “Phil McCracken” or something else that could be used against them for life. Also, think about initials as well. You don’t want your daughter “Anna Sophia Smith” to have the initials of “ASS”
  5. AVOID crazy spellings.. I know you might think its cute or unique to spell something with a y or q, but think of your child for a minute. I have worked with young children for years and I always feel bad for the ones with crazy name spellings. They have such a hard time learning to spell it.
  6. Don’t spend forever and a day with middle names. Lets be honest. How many people’s middle names do you know? We opted to have our daughter’s middle name be from the family. We are going to do the same with our son.

Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

