Registering for your baby shower- Part One

Get comfortable.. This is going to be an important post that will not only save you money, but time and effort. I am going to go through the important tasks of registering for baby gifts. PS- I think registering for baby items was one of the happiest times of my pregnancy! It got me so excited to meet my little girl.

Helpful Hints:

  1.  If you know what you are having, you  may still want to register for gender neutral items (swing, pack n play, high chair). If you have another child you don’t want to have to rebuy these items and they are much easier to sell down the road.
  2. Make a list! You don’t want to forget about something.
  3. Don’t be afraid to register for big ticket items. People LOVE to go in together for large gifts and you will be VERY greatful when you do not have to buy the $200-$300 swing yourself!
  4. Decide what is important to you. Will you have the baby in your room for a few months? Will you use pacifiers? Will you breastfeed? All of these things are important to figure out before registering.

Baby Registry Checklist:

Nursery Items:

  • Bassinet or cradle This item isn’t necessary in my opinion. I chose to have my daughter in our room for a few months, but what I did was buy a pack-n-play with a built in bassinet. (Trust me this will save money and space in your home).
  • Crib & Crib mattress – Don’t skimp on these. Firm mattresses are important for infants and helps to prevent SIDS. Never buy used mattresses or cribs. SO many cribs have been recalled. Do your research.
  • Changing Table See Dresser
  • Dresser- Purchase a dresser that can also be used as a changing table. You will welcome the added space in the nursery. This is an example of what I am referring to here.
  • Changing pad & Cover- You will want to buy 2 changing pad covers. Trust me… You will be surprised how many times your newborn pees or poops on these.
  • Glider or rocking chair- This is truly necessary. Even if you nurse baby in bed for the first few months you will still want a quiet place to rock baby or feed baby. I still use mine every night with my toddler daughter for story time.
  • Hangers/Closet organizers- The more storage you have,  the better. You will need tons of baby hangers. These closet organizers are great for baby shoes, extra packs of wipes, etc.
  • Mobile– This one is iffy. Some kids don’t like them and they can’t use them once they start sitting up because they can pull them down.
  • Hamper
  • Night-light/small table lamp
  • Organizer Baskets
  • Window Treatments- You will want to make baby’s room dark and comfortable.
  • Crib bedding set- This is also iffy. You can’t use blankets on babies, but I used it to drape over my rocking chair to decorate.
  • Fitted crib sheets (3-4)- These also get very soiled. They also shrink so invest in the good ones.
  • Mattress pad covers (2) This will protect the mattress.
  • Mattress Cover
  • Wearable blankets (2)- My favorite are Halo SleepSacks with the swaddle attached. You will want the newborn sized ones to have a swaddle wrap and then register for a few of the next size up without the swaddle. I recommend the Halo brand because they are the easiest to use and some of the cheaper ones have a large neck hole and my daughter tended to move these over her face.. Yikes..
  • Sound Soother- This is helpful if you have a noisy home, but you will want baby to get used to the noises in your home. I would say this isn’t a necessity.

Baby Gear:

  • Stroller/Travel System- This will take care of your infant stroller and infant car seat. I recommend getting a travel system like this Chicco one.
  • Umbrella Stroller – Yes, you need two strollers. You will want a small stroller especially during the toddler phase.
  • Pack-n-Play- These are amazing, especially for traveling. I also referenced these above when referring to bassinets. I bought a crazy one with tons of bells and whistles, but when it came down to it I just needed a regular one with a bassinet like this. I actually bought 2 so that my parents could have one. I ended out giving them the large one with all the crazy bells and whistles because it was so annoying to put up and have in my room. I kept the simple one for myself. I love it.
  • Pack -n-play sheet or cover (2)- These are great especially if baby spits up. There is no easy way to clean up the pad they come with.
  • Bouncer- I loved my bouncer. My daughter napped in this a lot as an infant. I would bring this into the bathroom when I showered so I could keep an eye on her. She loved ours because it played music and vibrated.
  • Swing- These are nice if your child will go in them. My daughter HATED the swing. I am hoping that Baby #2 will get some use out of it. Helpful tip** Buy one that plugs in! That way you do not need to change the batteries every other week.
  • Diaper Bag- I cannot stress how much these are important. If you think you have a big enough one.. Get the next size up. Buy a bag that you do not mind using as a purse as well. You will not want to lug around a diaper bag and a purse while trying to carry the infant car seat. Make life easier.

I will write Part Two: Travel, Toys, Clothes, Feeding, Bath/Health/Safety & Diapering sometime this week!

Leave a Reply

